You may remember the Dad who was following his son to school because he was kicked off the bus for bullying? If you remember, Dad was both praised and demonized for his punishment of making his son walk to school in the rain every day, as a punishment. If you don’t remember, click here.
Now lawmakers in Pennsylvania are taking the issue of bullying one step further, they are putting it on the parents….to the tune of $500.
But wait, before we say anything. Here is the full proposal, which is also being proposed in California with a $750 fine.
- On the first offense, the school would take action to correct the behavior.
- If a child continues to bully, a judge will determine if the parents would pay a fine of $500
- If the problem continues for a 3rd offense, a $750 fine will be imposed by a judge.
Don’t think this solely on the shoulders of the parents, educators are also being included in this proposal. If a school official fails to report a bullying incident, they could face disciplinary action or suspension. Another item that will be required by the school is to keep an active record of incidents by students in each school, in real time.
The interesting part is that reports of bullying can be done anonymously so what may constitute as bullying to a child, may not, in fact, be bullying, but it will require schools to do their do diligence.
This isn’t the only law that is proposed for anti-bullying, a small town in New York has their own law that fines parents $250 and a possible 15 days in jail. A School in Wisconsin has a law that gives parents a 90-day window to show that they are being proactive to stop their child’s bullying behavior, or face a first fine of $366 and $681 for a second.
Could this be a slippery slope? Only time will tell. What is known is that bullying accounts is one of many factors that leads to youth suicide (which is on the rise), which is outlined by the CDC.